Update - NC to Switzerland - Site visit or not? External elevators

A forum for questions and helpful information and advice about international moves and moving companies.
elaines

Update - NC to Switzerland - Site visit or not? External elevators

Postby elaines » Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:09 pm

We're moving from North Carolina to Switzerland this summer, approx. 1000 cubic feet.

I've got something like 8 or 10 estimates, and I have some questions/ experiences.

First of all, one agent told me that a site visit was worthless because the agent would spend 10 minutes in the house and I knew my goods better than anyone else (this was Ny International)

Although two other companies suggested a site visit and told me that it would take an hour for the visit. And I'd feel much better about it, because I've got some fragile pieces.

In Europe, it seems to be more common to use an external elevator, and my landlady even suggested it for large pieces. One mover (LTV) mentioned it in the quote. We do have an elevator in our flat, but it's a small one. LTV gave me an estimate for an external elevator at about $500 for 4 hours, but another agent told me that it was "hoisting and it would cost a fortune," and that the elevator would be fine. I didn't think $500 was that much. Makes feel that the second agent wasn't very familiar with this.

In asking about my fragile pieces, another agent told me that things going across the ocean were "better packed" than local moves because everything has to be in there tightly. True? And, this firm did not offer a site visit, but asked me to measure my fragile pieces. But suppose I measure them incorrectly - especially given that one of them is not a rectangular object.

I requested an estimate from Echo Trans World, and it was incredibly low, which truthfully raises a red flag. All the other estimates have been within a few hundred of each other.