Moving from Sacramento to Munich Germany

A forum for questions and helpful information and advice about international moves and moving companies.
poorcollegeman

Moving from Sacramento to Munich Germany

Postby poorcollegeman » Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:53 pm

Anyone have any tips for moving. I am a total newb. I have very little to move, mostly clothes and 1 california king bed. How much have people paid to move approx 20 boxes worth of stuff?
Thanks for the help.

Noone

Re: Moving from Sacramento to Munich Germany

Postby Noone » Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:20 am

You are probably at or below the minimum to use an international shipping company.
Check with the 4 suggested movers for their minimum volume and price. I can't imagine it would be under $1200, and likely more. (I don't do the US-Germany route FYI)

I suggest selling the bed, sorting which clothing must go and what can go to Goodwill, and bringing a few extra boxes on the airplane as "Extra Luggage". If you're a poor college man, save the money you would spend on shipping and go to a second hand store or Ikea-type store when you get to Germany. The money is more important than the stuff.

poorcollegeman

Postby poorcollegeman » Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:12 am

Has anyone had any experience with a moving company called Aerostar Moving & Shipping, Inc?

My wife thinks that they sound good because the price is so cheap. Est $1200 for 100 cubic feet with door to door service.

hardatwork

Postby hardatwork » Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:40 am

I do not see that Areostar Moving & Storage has a FMC OTI License Numbers listed on the FMC website, www.fmc.gov. Ask them for their license number so you can verify they are licensed with the FMC.

Any of these websites you are going to that allows you to get quotes from so called “international movers” when you get the replies with a rate offer send the company an email and ask two questions: