I am moving out of state this month end. I got my Registration renewal notice which has a grace period till Sep1,2011. Shall I do the registration here in CA, and then move out.or I can just go to the next state and do the registration there.
Why would you even consider giving California more of your money? God knows that state in particular gets enough of it already. Register your car in your new home within a week or so of arriving and you'll be fine.
Looks like I'm in just the same situation as you. I posted a very similar question yesterday. You can see it here, along with the responses I got.
Just remember that if you get a ticket for expired registration in that time period you won't get a grace period from that.
I know, because I forgot to renew mine on time in April, and it was $90 by the expiration date, and I missed it by 2 days and paid $140
1..NEVER PAY A MOVER A DEPOSIT FOR INTERSTATE MOVING! IT COULD BE THE START OF THE BIG SCAM
2. GO WITH IN HOME ESTIMATES ONLY.
3. DO NOT USE A BROKER.
BigLeeCalif wrote:I don't know what kind of registration you have, but California does NOT have any grace period.
x-countrymove wrote:California registration fees are due and payable upon receipt of the registration renewal billing notice, which is mailed out approximately 67 days before the expiration date. The expiration date is not a due date. It is the last day to renew without penalty.
This changed on July 1st due to new legislation. The following note was included with my renewal notice, which I received 9 days before the due date...
Legislation passed on may 4, 2011, changes DMV's process for collecting registration renewal fees due on or after July 1, 2011. This includes not sending 60-day advance notification to renew and establishing a 30-day grace period before penalties are due.
Pay fees within 30-days of the DUE DATE to avoid penalties.
Law enforcement will not cite vehicles until the first day of the second month after the vehicle registration expires. For example: A vehicle registration due in July would not be subject to citation until September.
The only problem with this is that I doubt out-of-state law enforcement are going to know about or follow California's new legislation.
Other states will not honor California regulations if your registration has expired. I'm curious as to how insurance companies are going to respond to accidents that happen during this "grace period". Just because California is allowing a registration grace period, there is no law requiring insurance companies to cover accidents during any period your vehicle is not legally registered.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests