SOS Affordable Movers

A forum for questions and helpful information and advice about international moves and moving companies.
Mr_T

SOS Affordable Movers

Postby Mr_T » Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:01 pm

Has anyone used this company before. I am moving from Los Angeles to Madrid. They claim they are members of the FMC and IAM yet I can not find them on the OTI list. What are the risks using a sales agent with no FMC number. I gave them a deposit only so far. Not feeling very comfortable now that I found out they are not bonded and no license. Can anyone recommend a good company that ships to Spain from Los Angeles... I am new to this international shipping contracts.. thank you...

Noone

Re: SOS Affordable Movers

Postby Noone » Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:11 pm

The big risk of using an unlicensed broker is this - if he doesn't care enough about the law to get s license (when it is required), what makes you think he'll care about honoring his contract? And since he's not licensed, the FMC won't be able to help much if there is a problem.

Check out the suggested forwarders here:
http://www.movingscam.com/international ... _guide.php

or look on the superlist for a local agent of a major van lines, and have three come to do an in home survey and quote.

MusicMom

Postby MusicMom » Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:37 pm

What you first need to do is call them and simply ask "what's your license number?" Then ask "what agency is that license with?" Sometimes it's a matter of a company being unlicensed, sometimes it's a matter of not being able to find them on the list because they use a legal name and a doing-business-as name. Give them a chance, but be cautious.

If they aren't properly licensed for overseas shipments, cancel by certified letter, and if need be, file a dispute with your credit card if you don't get your deposit back.

Mr_T

Postby Mr_T » Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:42 pm