Moving from Delaware to Portland, OR

Our open community forum is for general moving related questions, comments, and useful information about local and interstate moves.

Moving from Delaware to Portland, OR

Postby Guest » Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:15 pm

So I am relocating and had my first moving estimate. The company is Bayshore Allied in Newark, DE. Great reputation.

I'll get to the point, but forgive the lack of details as I'm new to this. The quote was ~$6020.00 for 6200lbs from Wilmington, DE to Portland, OR, Allied packs everything, standard insurance (the free one), price guarantee but will be lower if the weight is lower.

I'm having 2 other estimates at the end of this week. I assume the $6020.00 guaranteed price is pretty good considering the distance and weight? Any thoughts for an inexperienced mover.

PS, moving it by ourselves is just too much. Plus we have cats and the car. We are going to drive the car w/ cats after the house is loaded and on its way.

MusicMom

Re: Moving from Delaware to Portland, OR

Postby MusicMom » Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:37 pm

You're off to a great start, they DO have a good reputation.

price guarantee but will be lower if the weight is lower.

This sounds like you have Allied's version of a Guaranteed Not To Exceed estimate. There is a cap set, you will not be asked to pay more than that price, but if your load actually weighs less, you pay for that exact amount. This is the best option for both customers and movers.

You might want to consider purchasing higher valuation from them, with a zero deductible (the pro's suggested amount, since most claims are relatively small amounts that get swallowed up by deductibles), especially if you have good furniture or higher-value electronics. Anything packed by the movers is covered, anything previously packed by you is not covered by the valuation.