Our Moving Horror Story, Van Rollover Accident

Use this forum to report moving scams, and disreputable moving companies
Total Loss

Our Moving Horror Story, Van Rollover Accident

Postby Total Loss » Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:58 am

Hi, I'm a newbie here. I've never moved more than a mile so all this is shockingly
new to me. Unfortunately this move has become a nightmare my family will never
ever forget.

After contracting with a mover in CA named Paramount Relocations, Inc. they came
to our house to load our furniture and boxes. (we were quoted by the cubic foot, duh,
what did we know.) I was a little curious when they showed up in a Penske truck.
I managed to get through it by thinking that they would take my things back to their
facility (yeah, right, like two desks) and combine it with another move.

When the contents didn't arrive at the contracted time, after my husband
flew there to meet them, we really got worried. When we called the driver he was a
different driver than we'd met. He told us he'd had some trouble with the van and he
was stuck in NM awaiting repair. When we called the company they said they were
unaware of a delay. The next day the driver said he was waiting for parts, and the
following day he stopped answering his cell phone. After many hours on the phone
tracking him down we found out that he had been in an accident in NM. Paramount
finally admitted that they didn't know about it because the job had been handed off
to a (blacklisted) company called All State Van Lines. They would give us no
information but the owner would call back but of course that never happened. Everything
they told us from the beginning was a lie. Paramount (who uses the DOT# for All State)
kept blaming All State and All State kept telling us to call Paramount.

After several more days of utter frustration I got on the phone and called every State
Police office in NM. This took me two days. On the third day I got lucky and finally