need info on Southwest Van Lines (CA)

Our open community forum is for general moving related questions, comments, and useful information about local and interstate moves.
mbourg316

need info on Southwest Van Lines (CA)

Postby mbourg316 » Sun May 30, 2004 9:06 pm

can any one tell me info about southwest van lines out of woodland hills ca. they give me a low quote to move me from az to pa and i can not find out any info on them and they charge per cubic feet. please help this is my first time useing a moving company

Here2Help

Re: need info

Postby Here2Help » Sun May 30, 2004 9:09 pm

First of all, if they are charging you by cubic feet, you have a 99.9% chance you will be ripped off and scammed!

Others will probably take the time to research this for you, but I will say you should never ever bne charged by cubic feet!!!!!

Keep looking! :wink:

MusicMom

Postby MusicMom » Sun May 30, 2004 9:25 pm

I can't find anything on this particular name in CA. Do you ahve more info, such as a DOT # or MC#?

Diane

Postby Diane » Sun May 30, 2004 10:04 pm

Your profile says that you are a maintenance man at an apartment complex. How much stuff (number of pounds or number of rooms) do you have to move and what is your approximate budget?

Don't under any circumstances use this Southwest company. It has the hallmarks of a scammer.

Tyrone

Postby Tyrone » Mon May 31, 2004 5:41 am

Do NOT use any moving company that charges by the cubic foot for interstate shipments.
Dominus amotioni capitis e clunibus sum.

MusicMom

Postby MusicMom » Mon May 31, 2004 7:18 pm

mbourg316 tells me the DOT number is 950212.

Using that number (which resolves to a legal name of ELI ' S FIRST MOVE VAN LINE, INC.), shows their authority was granted 10-23-01, and revoked 10-15-02. They had an insurance rejection on 9-30-03, which means they were trying to continue their insurance after having their license pulled. They were (and obviously still are) doing illegal moves.