Guaranteed Price Pledge

Our open community forum is for general moving related questions, comments, and useful information about local and interstate moves.
JC

Guaranteed Price Pledge

Postby JC » Sun May 08, 2005 10:26 am

I received an estimate from Allegheny Transfer and Storage in Baltimore, MD for a move in the middle of June. The estimated weight is 3000 lb and their "Guaranteed Price" is $1784.

Two things bother me about this. First, I know I am not a moving professional but I have moved before and the 50 boxes they think I need seems very high to me and in my opinion will unreasonable inflate the weight estimate. In my last move I used les than 30 boxes and I don't have a lot more stuff than before. I'm also making 2 trips in my SUV mainly to move things that I don't want to get lost or damaged and I will also add things like books, dishes and other items as long as there is room in my SUV.

The other thing is that I asked them what would happen if I had less than 3000 lb and they said that the price was fixed at $1784 even if the weight was less. Then, they said that as long as I didn't add anything to my move the price was $1784 so I asked what that meant and they said that if I added stuff my price would go up. The "Guaranteed Price" was just a "guarantee" if I had what they expected me to have or less.

Since I honestly think I will have less, I'm a bit hesitant to go with this company even though I have heard great things about them. They would give me free boxes and guarantee delivery within 4 days at my new house. They even supplied me with lots of info on moving, what sizes of boxes to use, insurance info and the "Rights and Responsibilities" booklet.