Penske - biggest possible discount

Our open community forum is for general moving related questions, comments, and useful information about local and interstate moves.
ryryresident

Penske - biggest possible discount

Postby ryryresident » Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:49 pm

Hi; my wife and I have been looking at this excellent site as we plan a move. I'm a medical resident moving from Utah to Ohio. We found a family member with experience driving trucks who was willing to drive the truck with our second car in tow. We therefore looked into all the deals for "move yourself" companies like Penske, U-haul, etc.

We saw how this website mentioned a total of a 20% discount through Penske by booking online (10%) and by linking into the Penske site through Movingorbit.com or by using AAA membership (another 10%). There was also a mention of a "NRA" discount when renting a truck plus a car dolly (another 10% maybe; details were sketchy).

Well, my wife and I couldn't get the 10% discount through Movingorbit to work; the checkout gave a base rate followed by a 10% off for using online booking. We expected another "movingorbit" 10% off to be listed in the quote. I decided to just call and ask for the full 20% off even though I was booking on the phone.